5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

First Engine Build! any help appreciated!

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2007, 04:58 PM
JohnCalvin
1st Gear Member

Default First Engine Build! any help appreciated!

Building a 302 roller for my 66! This is my first build and I'm beyond excited! OK.. so here are my questions! any help or even suggestions for my first build is very appreciated!

Here's my basic build... Some parts may sound odd... but they are things i already have from past endevours...

Currently have
86 5.0 HO roller short block...
crane Hyd roller lifters, spiders and hold down
110 gph mechanical fuel pump
650 speed demon
edelbrock rpm heads
edelbrock rpm manifold
summit 1.7 lifters (Got these from a buddy, figured why not, use the stock cam and increase lift a bit, for now... step up to a new cam someday)
msd distributor
msd 6al
msd blaster 2
performance rebuilt C4
oil pump, water pump, alternator, power steering pump, etc...

I'm confused about which oil pan will fit... needs to be front sump to fit in my 66 but past that i'm running into ones that say 1 piece or 2 piece main seals... does that matter? I'll probably just buy one off ebay.. any suggestions what to look for.

I also need a flexplate and damper... I want to use the bellhouse off my current 289 engine.. all original... so i've been told that holds the smaller 157t flexplate... is this correct? So i'll need a 157 50oz flexplate? With Damper i need a 50oz... but the 3 and 4 hole confuse me... which do i need?

Is there anything else any of you could give me advice with? Anything you think i'll screw up on or need to know? Thanks all for your time!!! If you all are helpful i'll post pics of the whole build, old engine removal and new engine install... oh yea.. never done that before either, so any advice there is also very very appreciated!!!