5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

greetings

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2004, 08:55 AM
terboracer

Default greetings

what is up all. I do not yet own a mustang, however I will be purchasing one by the summer. I am thinking of a mid 80s model 5.0 GT. I have found a bunch of these on the internet for under 3 grand. my plan is to create a muscle car. i have never worked on fords before. im afraid to admit the only kind of cars ive worked on are VWs, but i have done a bunch of those. i hope to do all work on the mustang myself, and teach myself as i go. here are some initial questions I have.

what should I look for when buying the car? obviously a clean motor and no leaks, anything else?

any particular model/year from the 80s that people tend to prefer? keep in mind im in the 3k and under price range.

I will most likely be buying a stock 5.0, what mods should I begin with? intake? suspension?

anybody have any experience with Nitros in a mustang?

sorry if these Qs are repeats of recent posts. feel free to answer any or all questions. i love to get replies!
Old 12-29-2004, 10:18 AM
4fit?
4th Gear Member

Default RE: greetings

what should I look for when buying the car? obviously a clean motor and no leaks, anything else?
Just look for the normal stuff. Rust, Leaks, Bondo, etc. Keep in mind that a great deal of these cars have been driven hard all their life.

any particular model/year from the 80s that people tend to prefer? keep in mind im in the 3k and under price range.