5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Relocating battery right now.

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2005, 04:17 AM
Dbeck002
I ♥ Acer

Default Relocating battery right now.

Hey doodz. i was bored so i decided to make my own relocation kit. since im a welder and have lots of tools/hardware/raw materials i can make a kit easily. i also have 2 full spools of 4 gauge high strand Crankin' cable. I used those to run the power from the +- back to the trunk.

I took pics but ill tell you guys the story.

I needed to get both cables through my firewall so that was a bit of a hassle, lucky me there was a peice of audio wire left hanging in the engine bay and under the steering wheel going through the firewall. i taped ONE heavy cable to this crappy old audio wire and pulled the heavy cable through, did this again with another line of heavy cable and taping it to the first heavy cable line. ok so i got both cables through the firewall (through the steering column grommet). im ready to stretch the lines through the carpeting. this was actually pretty easy, i unbolted the side plastic trim and saw plenty of room to work with, i slid the wires under my carpet under the rear seat and out the back, you cant even see the cables inside my car, completely hidden. took a good hour of nifty work but i finally got 2 heavy lines going from my engine bay to the trunk where the battery is sitting. i will be taking pics as i do this. hope yall like.
Old 02-13-2005, 02:36 PM
luckythirteen13
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Relocating battery right now.

why did you run two lines? you could have just ran the positive wire and then grounded the battery in the trunk.

lets see those pics!
Old 02-13-2005, 10:05 PM
vfast
I ♥ Acer

you need to ground it near the battery..I hope your using a 00 wire for the positive
Old 02-13-2005, 10:12 PM
SShadowSSin