5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Street vs Strip heads, where's the line?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2005, 01:28 PM
fenders

Default Street vs Strip heads, where's the line?

Complete Mustang NOOB here so please be gentle when I say something completely stupid here in just a minute. Sorry, this post will no doubt be too long. My current project is a rather high dollar 53F100 streetrod. I’m shopping for a 94-95 GT 5spd coupe now.

I’m 40 something and I made a living as an auto mechanic before the MAF was invented. My comments may be jaded by my experience with carbureted motors only. I see the rules have changed. You guys are getting some outrageous performance from these things. I’m impressed! Before I forget, I have been reading posts here for days. Thanks for the education already. But I have questions that aren’t quite answered yet.

My goal is a stang with awesome street throttle response that doesn’t embarrass me when I visit the strip occasionally. (1/4 mile) I’d like ETs in the 12s eventually if that is reasonable. I’m guessing about 300HP/TQ is what I need eventually. Can I have all this in a car that does not demand to be tweaked every week? Wifey is a good sport. She’ll let me throw the cash without much fuss. She only requires a 5speed and to not need a pit crew to accompany here when she takes it for an occasional ride to work. Seems fair.