5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Help me out, i'm still a newb

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2007, 11:20 AM
geddylee
2nd Gear Member

Default Help me out, i'm still a newb

So since my transmission went out i've been throwing around ideas for further up on the road. I'm just getting it rebuilt for now. For one, with a good rebuild how long have your guys' t-5's lasted with occasional racing(once a week or less) and being a dd. Second, how much power and torque can one hold safely, i've heard around 330 ft lbs of torque but i thought thata stock fox had almost 300 already.I haven't heard a hp figure. Also, i've been thinking on swapping in a t-56 later on down the road, is the t-5 bellhousing compatible with a t-56? unless the the t-56 bellhousing is smaller than the t-5 one then i would have to uset-5 bellhousing due to clearance issue.

I have two last questions. The first one is what would you all rate the 85 stock HO cam in terms of lopeyness(sound) ona 1 to 10 scale, my friends all seem to think i have an aftermarket cam(i think it sounds stock and wheni wasworking on the engine beforei put it ini didn't look).

Last but not least, i have a huge hesitation in my throttle, i know it's probably because of the carb. If i mash the gas the car almost always falls flat on its face almost to the point of dying, there are no noticable misses or hesitation under normal acceleration. My real question is, is it something i can fix without kitting the carb? if i have to kit to fix it i will just wait as i'm selling this carb to my friend(cause he's an edelbrock man) and using the money to buy a Remanufactured holley from summit(cause i'm a holley man). when i do that i assume the problem should be gone with a little tuning. Sorry for the long post.
Old 11-07-2007, 05:00 PM
geddylee
2nd Gear Member