5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Spec stage 3 clutch or king cobra? Ram?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2007, 05:57 PM
50Stocker
2nd Gear Member

Default Spec stage 3 clutch or king cobra? Ram?

Ialready ordered a SPEC Stage 3 clutch for my car. A stock engined '93 GT. It only has flows, and will shortly have a full exhaust (o/r pipe and shorties). I originally thought it was overkill for my car, rated at 680 lb/ft. In the distant futureI want to add heads/cam/intake. Shop (whom I have never worked with before) uses this clutch pretty much exclusively, so under hesitation I ordered it.

I called spec and they said that this is the most popular clutch for this car, but it will chatter under daily driving, and is more on/off than a factory clutch. The shopI was thinking of have doing his work said this has not been a problem for them. They said it has become an issue with the stage 3+ clutch. The SPEC rep said they are out of their minds. I would be using the four puck style.

Regarding the stage 3, I had seen some reviews where people stated it chattered during break in, but got better. Others replied that it will be too much clutch for my T-5 which will be rebuilt.