5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

cylinder head question

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2008, 10:51 PM
vvelez5
1st Gear Member

Default cylinder head question

Alright im still a newbie to all this and i want to get some aftermarket heads on my 5.0. I like the gt-40 heads but i see that there are different types and im wondering what do the CCs mean. dont i just bolt it on to the block? and what else would i need to have these things working? thanks for your help
Old 01-23-2008, 01:01 AM
Hung Like a Stang
4th Gear Member

Default RE: cylinder head question

Hmm, the actual head question is very vague.

But, the "CC" is the combustin chamber volume in cubic centimeters. the higher the number, the lower compression, and vise versa. (this is w/ your standard piston, a dished pistion will lower compression, an dome pistion will up the compression)

If you're staying naturally aspirated, you can run a higher compression (lower numerical valued "CC" head) and get a little more power if tuned right. If you want boost, get a low cr number.

Theres a lot to look into with new heads. Intake runner volume for instance, too big, and you'll bog hard on the low end. The combustion chamber volume previously discussed, Possible push rod length issues. You might want to run head studs and get a good head gasket. If you're looking into gt40P heads, you'll need a different set of headers and spark plugs.

There's a lot of info if you use the search function.
Old 01-23-2008, 07:37 AM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

ORIGINAL: vvelez5

Alright im still a newbie to all this and i want to get some aftermarket heads on my 5.0. I like the gt-40 heads but i see that there are different types and im wondering what do the CCs mean. dont i just bolt it on to the block? and what else would i need to have these things working? thanks for your help