5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Imabalance vs internal balance

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 07:44 PM
89 5.0 Mustang
2nd Gear Member

Default Imabalance vs internal balance

Hey everyone its been a while since I have posted on here but got kinda a stupid question maybe but I want to make sure I'm ok. So I have a 95 cobra and I have a 50oz imbalanced harmonic balancer and a ram aluminum flywheel with a 50 oz internal balance. I guess I have 2 questions. 1 being what does it exactly mean when something is imbalanced and or why would they do that. Question 2. Being would I make a big problem when I install my flywheel or was I correct that one is 50oz imbalanced and the other is 50oz internal balanced? So I can do the install and not have any crazy vibrations or motor problems in the future. Any help is appreciated! Thanks, Steve
Old 09-20-2010, 08:38 PM
Bubba 95SN
4th Gear Member

They are one in the same. What you are saying is balancer has a 50oz weight-the flywheel has a 50oz weight. 95 5.0 uses 50oz.
Old 09-20-2010, 10:13 PM
67mustang302
6th Gear Member

Not exactly. The oz imbalance is actually based on force at a given rotation iirc, but the weight itself is not "as advertised" as it were. Also, in the later 302's the flywheel used a 50oz balance factor and the balancer uses a 34oz imbalance factor(which is referred to as the 50oz balance, earlier 302's and all 351W used a 28/28 factor). It's done to help balance out harmonic frequencies that are generated from the winding and unwinding of the crank as power is applied and it rotates, as well as the increase and decrease in crank acceleration due to power being unevenly applied to it(a characteristic of ALL piston engines).