5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Newbie with questions....

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2006, 12:57 PM
BAT

Default Newbie with questions....

Hi all,

I'm new to the Mustang world and have a few questions. First, I don't yet have a Mustang but am looking at two right now. One is an '88 GT 'vert and the other is a '93 5.0 LX 'vert. The LX looks great and the seller says it needs nothing. The GT however has a small list of mods, quoted from the ad....

" Has BBK mufflers, BBK h pipe with cats, Aftermarket header, CAI, LX taillights.Auto tranny. 105,000mi. New top and Paint. Needs interior. rust free "

My questions are, is the interior expensive to replace? How available are the parts? Etc. Are there certain signs I should look for?
I'm leaning towards the GT as the price is $1800 less than the LX.

I've read a few other threads and don't dare post the links to these cars as someone will buy it from under me! [sm=icon_beat.gif] OK, maybe not.... but it wouldn't be funny if someone did. Anyway, the GT is listed for $3k and the LX for $4800. Based on what I've read.... these seem to be good prices!

I'm looking at these as a second vehicle. My "everyday" ride is a Chevy Avalanche. I'm actually trying to find a car that I can drive the majority of the time as my truck only gets about 11.5 to 12 MPG. What can I expect for mileage on the above mentioned cars??? I assume better than the 12's I'm getting now. Thanks to all that reply and try to help me out.
Old 02-23-2006, 12:58 PM
BAT

Default RE: Newbie with questions....

lets see if I can post a pic of the two....

Old 02-23-2006, 01:28 PM
nitrous_bob
6th Gear Member

ok check it out..... i would take the lx hands down for a number of reasons.

first off , if it has not been faked, that is a limited edition convertible. (you can tell by the spoiler and white wheels)