5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

I need your help with buying a Fox!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2008, 05:13 PM
grindman620
2nd Gear Member

Talking I need your help with buying a Fox!!

Hey guys,

So I have been in the search for a decent Fox body 5.0 mustang for a little bit now. I am a college student and between that and my regular car payments, I am limited on funds. But I have a decent amount of money to get me a good solid used Fox to work on. I have come across this 1986 5.0 with only around 45,000 miles on the engine and body. It is completely stock except for some headers on it and he was doing an emissions uninstall. I have no clue what the emissions uninstall is, but it sounds like he is removing some of the exhaust. What I want to know from you guys, is if you think this could be worth perusing. I can get this mustang for a steal of a deal. So let me know what your comments or concerns are and if it would be a pain in the *** to change anything. I know that the engine bay is a bit dirty, but realistically how hard will it be to clean and "update" it to looking and performing good. Can I purchase a new intake plenum to get rid of that old dirty one? I am a bit of a novice with working on cars, but I have a lot of help from friends, so do you think I should be fine working on this? Or would this look like a complete over-haul? And like I said I want a project car to work on during the winter and drive just in the summer.

Possible upgrade I want to do:
-Sweet *** exhaust system
-Rebuild engine (mildly, clean it up)
-Possibly convert to a MAF
-Eventually Supercharger it

Here is the link to his photo album of where the pictures are. Don't worry about the other car in there that got into an accident. That's not it lol

http://www.flickr.com/photos/30425462@N02/
Old 10-05-2008, 05:55 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK