5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Questions for the go fast guys.

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2011, 08:41 AM
bluebeastsrt
6th Gear Member

Default Questions for the go fast guys.

Hi All. Im new to the 5.0 section. I spend all my time in the S/S section. I haven't owned a 5.0 sinse the 80s. Just bought a 95 GT and my plans are to put it in the 10s. I just came from an 11 second SRT-4 that would trap 120. My questions are. What would be the best gear ratio for a track car that would see a 150-200 shot. I'm thinking 4.10s but only want to buy mods once and do it right. Second question is the stock rear strong enough to handle the kind of power to get into the 10s? I've heard later model 8.8s will bolt right up and have 31 spline posi units. So all I'd have to do would be change out the gears and axles. Is this swap needed? I'm sure you guys are a wealth of information about this car and wont mind all my questions in the coming months.

Last edited by mjr46; 08-31-2011 at 11:21 AM.
Old 08-31-2011, 10:47 AM
AdderMk2
Banned

Someone has been feeding you alot of really bad information.

The only axles that will bolt directly into the SN-95 are fox and SN axles, and some of the old T-bird axles. Anything 99+ is wider (the actual housing) and will not fit right. the 03-04 Cobra rear ends were 31 spline, but hey are also IRS. Something you do not want.

Now on to your power and time goals...