5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Wanting Some info on fox's.

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2012, 04:24 PM
jtb727
3rd Gear Member

Default Wanting Some info on fox's.

What's up fella's?

I'm not new to mustangs, however I am new to fox's. I currently have a 99 GT with a few goodies, but it's just not doing it for me anymore. I am looking to pick up a fox here in the near future and just had a few questions about them.. I've got mechanical knowledge, and know how, just wanted to get some clearification on a few things.

Anything besides the obvious to specifically look for while looking at them for purchase?(special years, etc?)

I hear the stock 302 blocks are prone to cracking. Where do they usually crack? and what caues it?, obviously power, how much power though? Along with this, how much can the stock bottom ends on these cars handle? I see alot of people pushing them to mid 400's.

I see alot of guys use GT40 heads and intakes, what is the break down of where to find these of other cars?

I've also got most of my experience with full OBDII, or straight carbs, how does one tune the fuel side of things? I know they've got distributors and a timing gun is used.. like I said, I've never touched anything with this set-up so it is completely new to me.

These are pretty much all I was wondering about, everything else I found when searching.

Thanks for the help in advance,
Justin
Old 02-06-2012, 12:05 AM
tinman
5th Gear Member

The best thing to do IMHO is to buy this book.
Offical Mustang 5.0. Written by Al Kirschenbaum. Published by Bentley.
I think you can buy it at Amazon.
Out in this part of the country (Arizona) rust may not be much of a factor but I'd look fopr it anyway. Mostly the sun gets to the paint and interior as the newest of these are are nearly 20 years old.
Old 02-06-2012, 01:03 AM
Steve0623