5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

Re pinning instrument cluster connectors

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2017, 10:14 PM
5.0muscle
2nd Gear Member

Default Re pinning instrument cluster connectors

. I purchased an aftermarket Instrument cluster by New Vintage USA. Without removing the OEM wire harness, is there enough length and play to repin and replace the two connectors that plug into the OEM cluster? It's been suggested that a Delphi GT-150 connector would be a good replacement. The cluster was a present from my wife so please don't ask why I bought it. I'm an old rookie. Any suggestions would be appreciated. The Mustang is a 1990. I've hit dead ends hoping that out there i could find a female connector that was a match to the existing harness 14 pin connectors that I could pigtail from into the new cluster.
Old 02-10-2017, 07:07 AM
88 orangepeel notch
6th Gear Member

Just to help us out, could you post a link to the cluster you have.

What did New Vintage USA recommend for this swap ?
Old 02-11-2017, 08:05 AM
Boss_Hotrod
5th Gear Member

There is enough length. You have to pull the harness quite a bit to get the wires to come through the holes but it is possible. I did something similar to my car and my brother's old car. Mine uses a 8 pin honda connector and his used a 16 pin Delphi GT connector.
Old 02-11-2017, 11:38 AM
5.0muscle
2nd Gear Member

88 Orangepeel Notch: I will advise on your request soon.

Boss Hotrod: That is what I was hoping to here. Were you 100% satisfied with the Delphi GT-150 connector? That was suggested in another thread on here by another that knows a lot more than I do.
Old 02-11-2017, 12:06 PM
5.0muscle
2nd Gear Member