PCM & Tune ?? - MustangForums.com

Notices
5.0L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about the 'Coyote' engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

PCM & Tune ??

Reply

 
 
 
Old 09-11-2011, 10:36 AM
  #1  
devildog1679
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
devildog1679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 107
Default PCM & Tune ??

Curious about something. They say Ford can tell if you flashed the PCM with aftermarket tune and the tuner TSB is unsettling. What if you had a second PCM and flash that one. Then when you go in for any major service swap the original PCM back in as well as stock air intake. Would this work? How much is a new PCM?
devildog1679 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 09:58 PM
  #2  
Norse1974
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location:
Posts: 880
Default

If you are that worried about loosing your warranty then don't mod the car....
Norse1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:02 PM
  #3  
Napoleon85
2nd Gear Member
 
Napoleon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: OH
Posts: 317
Default

Originally Posted by Norse1974 View Post
If you are that worried about loosing your warranty then don't mod the car....
Lol I said almost the exact same thing on the sister thread at mustang evolution.
Napoleon85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 11:56 PM
  #4  
devildog1679
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
devildog1679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 107
Default

Yep, the wife said no to engin mods
devildog1679 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 12:12 PM
  #5  
Rob72
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 115
Default

From what I has gathered the pcms are not plug and play. They are not programmed from Ford and the dealer must flash them before install. This is something that you need to confirm from a reliable source.

Last edited by Rob72; 09-17-2011 at 12:14 PM.
Rob72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 12:33 AM
  #6  
ShaneM
5th Gear Member
 
ShaneM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,397
Default

my understanding is that they can only tell that the ECM was reset not that it was custom tuned. basically if you have a tune and return to stock it looks to them the same as if you left the lights on and the batt was dead. i know a guy that is a mechanic at the local chevy dealer and they can tell that the ecm has been flashed though so its possible ford looks for that too.
ShaneM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 01:56 AM
  #7  
Rob72
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 115
Default

I have heard as well that Ford cannot tell between a dead battery and a flash. But if you bring in the car with low compression on #8(P0308) and the ECM shows 2 resets what do you think Ford is going to do?
Rob72 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 02:35 PM
  #8  
cbaty08
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 136
Default

Originally Posted by Rob72 View Post
I have heard as well that Ford cannot tell between a dead battery and a flash. But if you bring in the car with low compression on #8(P0308) and the ECM shows 2 resets what do you think Ford is going to do?
I don't think they will say anything; play stupid and they won't have any clue that you did something to actually void the warranty.

They can tell if you have flashed, but like others above said it looks just as if the battery died. After you flash stock, it is suggested to drive 100 miles to build up some logging in the computer.
cbaty08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 05:13 PM
  #9  
Mishri
Mish-ogynist
 
Mishri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 3,780
Default

No, what happens now if you have a warranty repair for a 5.0 engine ford wants the dealership to send in the ECU/PCM before warranty work is approved. they have the tools to tell if any parameters were ever changed. flashing the programming back to stock doesn't fix that. They'll see it and say warranty work denied, you have to pay the $4,000 for the repair. They can also tell if you flashed it because of the number of engine starts will be reset, and draining/disconnecting the battery doesn't reset those values. I figure if i blow up the engine because of mods I'll have to pay for it. If i don't think the mods caused the issue then i'll fight with ford about it, I wont try to hide anything.
Mishri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 05:37 PM
  #10  
Rob72
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 115
Default

Originally Posted by cbaty08 View Post
I don't think they will say anything; play stupid and they won't have any clue that you did something to actually void the warranty.

They can tell if you have flashed, but like others above said it looks just as if the battery died. After you flash stock, it is suggested to drive 100 miles to build up some logging in the computer.
You drive an extra 100 miles on it and you may convert a $4000 repair job to an $8000 replace job. And I do believe that Ford can tell the difference between a flash and a dead battery on these copperheads.
Rob72 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: PCM & Tune ??


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.