Notices
5.0L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about the 'Coyote' engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2012, 06:54 PM
HOODEY

Default Tuning

I am new to American cars however I have sound experience in engine tuning.
I have made 247whp from a 1500c engine motor using a piggy back computer.

I have done some research and the sct programmer seems popular.
When looking through the literature on ignition tuning. It seems that ignition
is only done over a range. This seems similar to what was done for an engine with distributor.

Does the pc software give you more granularity and is air flow taken into account. I.e that tuning table for ignition should have both air flow and rpm.

The fuel tables should be similar.

I would also like to know if changes in the table are transmitted in real time and also if the active cell on the pc is highlighted so that cell can be adjusted.

Are there piggy back ecus for the ford similar to the greedy e-manage ultimate for japanese cars.

I done believe in the concept of custom tunes. In the world of tuning that is a no no. Two similar cars will may different tuning requirements.
Old 11-04-2012, 07:24 PM
mapitts
3rd Gear Member

TONS of people on here are running custom dyno tunes. I run Steeda's 93 octane tune w/ a CAI and am pushing just north of 400 RWHP. If you do not believe in the the concept of custom dyno tuning, you need to take that up with Steeda, AM, Brenspeed, FRPP and a few others that I am sure that I am leaving out.
Old 11-05-2012, 08:36 AM
HOODEY

Understood. Any response on granularity and the workings of the tuning software. I am trying to understand the flexibility of the sct programmers relative to full after market computers.

The emanage ultimate was good enough to get buy without having to resort to an after market computer.
Old 11-05-2012, 10:03 AM
rbowmar
2nd Gear Member

Welcome to the Mustang Forums!