Notices
5.0L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about the 'Coyote' engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Thinking about supercharger

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2013, 02:25 AM
Chris06GT
1st Gear Member

Default Thinking about supercharger

Hi everyone,

This could be a long post.....

Let me start out by saying that I'm new to the tuning/induction world, but I have been doing some reading, both on here and elsewhere.

I installed the FRPP calibration last year ('12 GT), and although I thought it improved the driving experience, now I'm thinking that's it's not enough

I was thinking about getting a CAI and tune, but then I thought why not go all out.
I was looking at the FRPP 525HP kit since my friend could get me a deal, however, he's since left that job, so no more deal. I've been looking at the Roush 575HP kit.

Can someone with experience add any information to the questions below? I haven't been able to find as much detail as I wanted:

- Will the Roush fit with the FRPP strut tower brace? The car is in storage so I can't look at it to see

- I've seen that roots type supercharger can run hot, or hotter than twin screw. Is this a big issue? Will I need to look at heat extracting at some point? Is it truly just bolt on and go, or are there other things I need to upgrade?

- How much extra maintenance does the supercharger need? I see a lot of items that just say to watch the belt and replace the oil at the suggested interval, is this it?

- I've also read that the 5.0 can handle that much power, but perhaps the clutch doesn't. Can someone elaborate? I haven't been able to find any details about this

- Is anyone able to compare the two superchargers? I like that the Roush is less expensive, has a 3 year warranty, and apparently you can get Roush warranty work done at most Ford dealers. How about performance or reliability?