Notices
5.0L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about the 'Coyote' engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

A/C Compressor issues, need advice ASAP

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2014, 12:47 PM
BlueThunder88

Default A/C Compressor issues, need advice ASAP

Hey guys, so my A/C compressor on my 2011 GT went bye bye and I need to get it replaced ASAP (I live in FL and it's getting close to summer time). I took it to a few shops and they all quoted me in the ball park of $1,500 for parts and labor. I was wondering would I be better off finding the part myself then getting it installed? I don't really have 1500 to dish out and I have no knowledge of A/C repair on the vehicle. I also heard that running the car with a bad compressor can eventually harm the serpentine belt. Any advice or insight on the matter would be greatly appreciated!
Old 04-14-2014, 02:27 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

a 2011 should still be under warranty?

A bad compressor can ruin more than a serpentine belt. It can destroy the entire A/C system depending on what is actually failing. If it's the compressor impeller assembly, that will send shards of crap and dust throughout the A/C system. It's known as the 'Ford Black death' http://www.aircondition.com/tech/questions/15/

Anyways, If it has already failed, I wouldn't touch it, let a shop fix it, they can flush all of the crap out of the system instead of just replacing parts and leaving that crap in there. Any crap left in the system will just cause premature failure of the new parts and also reduce cooling efficiency.
Old 04-14-2014, 03:13 PM
BlueThunder88

I thought it would be under warranty but the guy was saying that it is only good for 36,000 miles. I have 60,000 on mine
Old 04-16-2014, 01:55 AM
Lethaldosage423
4th Gear Member

You'll need the compressor and receiver drier for sure. Depending on how bad the compressor is,you may need to have the lines and condenser flushed also.