Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Amp watts?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2005, 03:42 AM
baddog671
6th Gear Member

Default Amp watts?

Ok, Im just getting into the audio department and I have a few questions. Im not jumping into it seriously but I'd like to get upgraded a bit. One thing I have noticed though and maybe you can explain and help me. Ok, speakers in general have a wattage rating. Nominal and max, and its important to keep these in the right range. I had a Pioneer 760 amp and I realized it had no controls on watts. Actually it had bass boost, gain control, and lp/fr, thats all. SO how are you to adjust these. Do you just go off the gain control. Well now I have a phoenix gold 800(4 ch) and it is more overly the same. More ***** but it is still mainly lp,hp,by,etc. , frequency(the gain control i imagine), bass boost, and a switch for rear or front speakers. Anyways, this frequency is marked for 40 to 400 for 2 channels. So is that the watts even though it says Hz, becuase 400 for front and rear equals the 800 the amp holds. If the speakers I just put in are 50, should I put this on 50? Currently I have 2 10" subs that I think are 175 each bridged on the rear channels so should I put this up on 350 since I have 2? thanks for the help..
Old 10-23-2005, 11:46 AM
tripsevn7
Moderating with Angels

Default RE: Amp watts?