Notices
Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Shaker 1000 subwoofer connection

Old 08-18-2018, 05:16 PM
  #1  
Bens33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default Shaker 1000 subwoofer connection

When I bought my 2005 Mustang GT the subwoofers were disconnected. At the time I thought the sub was in the trunk but I found out there are also subs in the front doors. Iím replacing the radio and watched videos on how to do so and on the video there was a connection for the subwoofer/amps. Two RCA connectors into the radio that connect to a wiring harness. Does that connection power the door and trunk subwoofers? I need to buy the wiring harness and wanted to know before I do. I donít even know if they work but I would like to give it a try.

Thanks
Bens33 is offline  
Old 08-18-2018, 06:44 PM
  #2  
08'MustangDude
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,244
Default

The amp turn on lead is for both amps. You should put a 1.5K ohm resister on
the power lead from the RADIO so the amps do not POP on. I put one on mine,
and it works. It's just a power signal to tell the amps to turn on.
08'MustangDude is online now  
Old 08-18-2018, 08:38 PM
  #3  
Bens33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default

Ok great. Just to clarify. The one harness from the radio to the car will turn on all 3 subwoofers
(2 in the doors and 1 in the trunk). If I’m correct there are a total of 6 amps. 4 in the trunk for the trunks sub and one for each door sub. I'll also pick up a resistor and figure out how to install it.

Thanks
Bens33 is offline  
Old 08-19-2018, 01:12 AM
  #4  
08'MustangDude
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,244
Default

Yes, there are SIX amplifiers, two for the door speaker subs, and four for the trunk
shaker 1000 subs. The turn on lead is for all of them.

The resister just installs in on the radio's AMP turn on line, and then the
resister connects to the harness wire that has the amp's turn on line.
This makes it a SOFT on signal. The amps only require a 5V power
signal to turn on, which the Shaker units have. Aftermarket head units
are all 12V turn on leads, so it needs to be limited. So, the 1.5 K-ohm
resister does what is needed.
08'MustangDude is online now  
Old 08-19-2018, 11:57 AM
  #5  
Bens33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default

Awesome. Thanks for all the info. I just hope they work. I'm trying to figure out why someone would disconnect the amps/subs if they were working.
Bens33 is offline  
Old 08-19-2018, 12:27 PM
  #6  
Bens33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default

I'm going to pick up the Metra 70-5521 Receiver Wiring Harness. I only need the harness for the amps/subs. However, there are 2 turn on wires. According to the installation instructions I need both wires. Do I install a resistor on each turn on wire and splice them together or can I splice them together and use one resister for both wires?

Thanks
Bens33 is offline  
Old 08-19-2018, 02:17 PM
  #7  
08'MustangDude
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,244
Default

Yes, you can use the ONE radio amp turn on lead, to the resister, then to both turn on
leads factory side. I am going to hook up a switch in line with the amp turn on lead, so
that I can manually turn them on and off when the radio is on. So, if I am listening to a
talk show, flip the switch so the amps are off so I don't have to open the EQ and ramp
down the bass. Music, then flip the switch back on...

Last edited by 08'MustangDude; 08-19-2018 at 02:19 PM.
08'MustangDude is online now  
Old 08-19-2018, 02:24 PM
  #8  
Bens33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default

OK thanks. I just ordered the harness. If the subs work and there is speaker pop I'll then find a resistor. I hate to order 100 of them when I only need one and will never use them again. I wish Radio shack was still around.
Bens33 is offline  
Old 08-19-2018, 02:47 PM
  #9  
08'MustangDude
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,244
Default

You can buy the harness on eBay with the resister included....
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Radio-Stere...4/361739885896

There is just that SMAL plug, (C4), with the resister, but that's the main and subwoofer
harness adapter.
08'MustangDude is online now  
Old 08-19-2018, 02:57 PM
  #10  
Bens33
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Default

I already ordered the harness on amazon $7.22. If the subs work I'll find a resistor. Thanks.
Bens33 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Shaker 1000 subwoofer connection


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.