Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Insurance for a Classic Driver Found

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2006, 09:18 PM
Code_S_390

Default Insurance for a Classic Driver Found

Just got off the phone with Progressive Auto Insurance. They will insure your classic as a driver with NO...yes I said NO, restrictions! The agent explained my premium is based off my stated value of the car but if an accident were to occur, I'd have to prove my stated value through receipts, resent sales, or reputable appraisal. Liability, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured motorist all covered.

...OK, you knew there had to be a catch, didn't you?? The bad news is, of course, it’s expensive.

I'm a Mil officer, no accidents, perfect record, no claims, with an alarmed garage, married, over 25, no teenagers in the house...yet, and my premium (with $250/$500 deductible) will be $946.00 for six (6) months!! (stated value: $35.000)

Yep, expensive, but the peace of mind I'll have when I drive my car to work, the mall, or to drop my kids off at school knowing that none of these activities could/would make my claim null and void should the car be seriously damaged is, well....I guess very worth it to me.

I'd be interested in what the rest of you folks are doing for insurance, how you drive your car, etc.

Here's the web page for Progressive:
http://www.progressive.com/

For what its worth….

Lee

[IMG]local://upfiles/46254/83DA6A0A971D42DD9836A9E9A211C5E2.jpg[/IMG]
Old 08-19-2006, 11:32 PM
Leighky
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Insurance for a Classic Driver Found

Yep, this is what we do also. I pay 734 for 6 mon. for our 65 coupe with the same deds you got; however the stated value on ours is only 13K. But I agree Progressive is more costly than the classic cars insurances but I think its worth being able to drive the car whenever you want.
Old 08-19-2006, 11:41 PM
Toddman0025
2nd Gear Member