Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Going to pull the motor, probably need help..

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2007, 01:40 PM
boogerschnot
5th Gear Member

Default Going to pull the motor, probably need help..

I have decided to pull the motor,, If I were to change my rod and main bearings with the engine in the car, then I wouldnt get to clean up the engine compartment like I want to. And I think It will be easier to just pull the motor and do it, since Im a novice at engine building,, it will be a great learning experience, and with all you guys around, at the tap of a key I can get what info I need.. Now I just need to figure out where to start.. That, and how to explain to the wife that putting new stickers on the motor will come after I get the thing back to running correctly.. Whats with that woman? Anyway,, Ill pull it, fix it, paint it, and make her purr again.. How hard is it to change main seals after I have her out? And what type of engine paint would be best? I have already used the high temp stuff from Kragen on the water pump.. Is that rattle can type good enough for the block and heads? I appreciate all the help.. below is the original post:

Ok.. So when I first got my 69,, about 3 months ago,, I noticed that the oil pressure dial would not come up past the lower line on the factory guage.. So, I put in a mechanical guage for only about an hour and decided that I didnt want to mount it in the car because it was reading 50psi at Idle cold,, but after having the car put back together and running it about twice a week I decided to grab a few coronas and put the mechanical guage back in 2 nights ago... Again, I started it up and had 50 with a cold motor.. ran it for a few minutes and it stayed there..