Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

axle seal replace = difficult?

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2007, 02:34 PM
Mustangdemon67
4th Gear Member

Default axle seal replace = difficult?

i need to replace my rear axle seal, but not the bearing. i have never done it before but it seems simple enough, just take off the rear shoes and theres just like 4 bolts that hold them in right?
Old 05-30-2007, 02:46 PM
Soaring
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: axle seal replace = difficult?

OK, you say you have some mechanical skills so here goes. But, after reading this you are still confused, take the axle to a machine shop and have them press the bearing on and install the seal.
1. Raise and support vehicle, then remove rear wheel and tire assembly.
2. Clean all dirt from carrier cover area with a wire brush and/or cloth.
3. Remove axle housing cover and drain lubricant from axle.
4. Remove differential pinion shaft lock bolt and differential pinion shaft.
5. Push flanged end of axle shaft toward center of the vehicle, then remove C-lock from button end of axle shaft assembly.
6. Remove axle shaft from housing.

The bearingshould be repalced along with seal. No need to do this twice. To replace bearing:

Insert tool 1175-AC or equivalent, into housing bore and position it behind bearing so tangs on tool engage bearing outer race. Using slide hammer tool T50T-100-A or equivalent, remove bearing and seal as a unit.
Reverse procedure to install, noting the following:
Lubricate new bearing with lubricant E0AZ-19580-A or equivalent, and install bearing into housing bore using tool T78P-1225-A or equivalent.
Install axle shaft seal using tool T78P-1177-A or equivalent. Apply lubricant C1AZ-19590-B or equivalent, between the lips of the seal. Installation of bearing or seal assembly without proper tool may result in an early bearing or seal failure. If seal becomes cocked in bore during installation, remove it and install a new one.