Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Ignition Timing

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2007, 10:27 PM
adr3naline
1st Gear Member

Default Ignition Timing

I got a timing gun from my neighbor, but without any instructions. I've never done this before, and my mustang needs it desparatley. I've looked in the FAQ's for "how to time ignition", but nothing. I also can't search the forum right now, so I don't know if it's already been asked. I've searched google, but couldn't find anything really detailed enough to help me.

Does anybody know of a web site that gives very detailed instructions on timing the ignition? The step by step type, with lots of pictures. Thanks!
Old 11-16-2007, 10:46 PM
67mustang302
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Ignition Timing

Use white out to mark the timing marks on the balancer to where you want initial/total timing(provided they're accurate). And run the engine and use the timing light to time it to those marks(either set it at idle, or at full advance, or both).
Old 11-17-2007, 08:41 AM
my77stang
6th Gear Member

yup. at an idle with the vacuum hose disconnected from the distributor you set the baseline. make sure you plus the vacuum hose or you'll have a leak and it will either idle high, surge and not want to run right, or both.

8-12 degrees is a happy place, it'll run better @ 12 so as long as it doesnt ping under acceleration i'd go for that number.
Old 11-17-2007, 10:21 AM
adr3naline
1st Gear Member

Yeah, I've read a bunch of recommendations for setting for the timing, but no real good directions. I guess I'm just going to have to get out there and play around a little bit.

Anybody have a good instructions web site?
Old 11-17-2007, 11:16 AM
Oxnard Montalvo
4th Gear Member

Try this. And learn to Google.

Ignition Timing.
Old 11-17-2007, 05:50 PM
my77stang
6th Gear Member

we're my directions simple enough?[&:]
Old 12-04-2007, 12:17 AM
adr3naline
1st Gear Member