Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Recommend me a welder

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2009, 01:24 AM
david01130
4th Gear Member

Default Recommend me a welder

Im a beginner to welding but looking to learn. Mig welders seem easy and cleaner but what do I know. Ill be using it for stuff like repairing rust on the body, fixing radio holes, exhaust pipes, or simple patch jobs on the body or engine compartment. Nothing too serious. Gas or electric is fine but if an electric one can handle the jobs Im doing then that would be better. Any recommendations? Looking for something not too expensive and probably used would be best and cheapest off craigslist or something.
Thanks
Old 01-21-2009, 05:29 AM
kalli
6th Gear Member

I have tried all sorts of things but find MIG welding by far the easiest (as well as easiest to learn). and it will do all jobs quoted
Old 01-21-2009, 05:36 AM
fakesnakes
4th Gear Member

I read somewhere that if you go with red, white, or blue, you can't go wrong. That is Lincoln, (red), Hobart (white), and Miller (blue). I have a Millermatic that I bought a couple of years ago. This one with the auto settings for wire speed:

http://store.cyberweld.com/millermatic135.html

It is my second mig welder. My first was an off-brand Italian made brand that I learned how to weld with 15 years ago. I was stunned at the difference a quality welder will make and highly recommend you stay away from the cheapo welders. Mig is definitely the way to go for your first welder and welding is a great example of where practice makes perfect.
Old 01-21-2009, 06:57 AM
palerider
4th Gear Member

+1 Mig. Lincoln 130 will run off 120v and will do all work you mentioned.
Old 01-21-2009, 07:22 AM
snorulz
2nd Gear Member