Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

need advice for this newbie

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2012, 02:41 PM
kaiko

Default need advice for this newbie

my buddy bought a couple of cars at barret jackson this past year (friday) in scottsdale.One is a 1969 mustang cjr code looks mint.
He wants to sell it to me for $ 55,000, this is what he paid too.
What do i look for ? It has a marti report.
champagne gold with ac. Full resto in 2011 but not rotissurie (sp) that i no of.
Is this a good buy ?
Old 04-25-2012, 05:37 PM
groho
4th Gear Member

You pay any price that the two of you are comfortable with. It can be $40K or $90K. IMHO, when you start getting into those kinds of dollars, if you have to ask, then you shouldn't be spending the money. Just make sure you can insure it for what you paid.
Old 04-25-2012, 11:27 PM
kaiko

Default 1969 cjr with ac

thanks. Like I said, Im new at this.
I did want a project car but now I am disabled. I love the classic mustang. I owned a 1970 grabber orange coupe back in the day
I can drive a automatic so I felt buying a restored 1969 cjr car would be the way to go.
I guess my question was more related to:
what do you look for structure wise ie: are shock towers suspect on this year etc.
It is a full numbers match car except the rad, does that matter ?
as you get further away from the resto year does the car still hold value?
is this a trailer queen or can I drive it without losing on my investment ? (like my advisor does )
Fun first but it is a investment.
I will most definatly check on the insurance.
Old 04-26-2012, 12:27 AM
cheapstang68
1st Gear Member

I wouldnt look at it as an investment. At least in my opinion, I have never gotten any return on a vehicle. Just my two cents. And if you are paying that much for a vehicle, fun or not, I would think that you shouldnt have to look for anything.
Old 04-26-2012, 10:29 AM
MonsterBilly
4th Gear Member