Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

codes

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2005, 12:44 PM
66stilinprimr

Default codes

I was wandering about the code? I was asked the other day what code my car was and frankley I don't know. He said he was talking about the vin code.
He also said mine might be and A code. What is an A code and what does the code mean? I have been a mechanic for about five years and when some one wants to know something about the car we give them the vin. I know my car has a vin but I don't know it off the top of my head. With any newer car the fourth number in from the left represents the body style. If anyone could help that'd be great.
Old 10-24-2005, 12:55 PM
Soaring
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: codes

For the classic mustangs, you can look on your driver's side door and there should be a data plate there with the VIN on it. If not, then look on the inner fender under the hood near the driver's side shock tower. The 5th digit is the code for your engine. It will either be a C an A or a K.
The C code is for the 2v engines, the A code is for the 4v engines and the K code is for the 4v engines that are high performance engines.
Old 10-24-2005, 01:03 PM
gta289
3rd Gear Member

The codes in which your friend is refering to is probably the engine code. Very easy to find and to learn the actuall codes to decode. You look at your vin, on your title, or stamped on the fender apron, or in the driver door. It will start with a number which is the year, next a letter which is where it was assembled, ( f, r, t) next an 01, 02 ,03( 01:coupe , 02:fastback 03: convertable)
next is the engine that came in you car which will be a letter also ( either an t, c, a, or a k for your year) And the last six is you consecutive number the car was assembeled on the line>

heres a list of all codes

64 1/2
v- 180 inline six
d- 289 2v low compression
k -289 high performance

t-180 inline six
c-289 2v
a-289 4v
k-289 high performance