Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Response to Hiker on Oil

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2005, 10:51 AM
jrrhd73must
3rd Gear Member

Default Response to Hiker on Oil

Hiker,
I here what you are saying all the time. However, I am an engineer. I rebuild, remanufacture and upgrade Air Force air craft and helicopters. How many air planes (commercial included) change their oil on a specific mile or time interval? NONE! Not one. Even big diesel trucks on the road don't change their oil at specific intervals. In the flight community, where safety is paramount, we sample the oil to determine when to replace it. I have never changed the oil because it was bad in an aircraft, only because the engine or tranny was going bad. They use synthetic.

My why change oil at 3K, is because Amsoil will warranty your car for 25k miles or one year, against no extra wear tear, if you had changed the oil at 3k using dino oil. Amsoil is a full synthetic. I put Amsoil in my Harley and the bike ran 22 degrees cooler. I have been running Amsoil in my F250 for 22K miles. I have been sampling it every 5k to see how the oil is doing. The amsoil at 20k sampled better than dino oil at 2k. I have the samples to prove it.

Yes oil gets dirty, the filter is supposed to filter out the contaminents. A good synthetic will have enough detergents to run much longer than your dino oils. I service Harleys on the side, just by looking at the metal pick up on the plug I can tell you what oil was run in the bike. HD with 5-7K on the oil never have any metal shavings on the plug when Amsoil is run, however any other oil at 3k miles there are metal shavings. Note: not as many with Mobil 1. I tore apart an engine with 120k on Amsoil, there was little or no wear, in fact all of the tolerances were still within new car factory specs. No other engine have I seen in such great shape.