Convertible Tech This section is only for questions or information relating to a convertible. Questions about drivetrain modifications should still be posted in the engine specific sections.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing motor and lines on 91 conv. with parts from LateModelResto-HELP

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2013, 07:19 PM
Missmy5.0
1st Gear Member

Default Replacing motor and lines on 91 conv. with parts from LateModelResto-HELP

I have been dilly-dallying for a couple years now. The top motor was acting up for a while, so I bought the whole Late Model Resto pkg- motor, new lines, and Royal Purple ATF.Last summer even getting caught with my pants down, er, with my top stuck down in a thunderstorm did not get the motor off my garage shelf and in the car.( I did find that driving at 55 the rain over the top of one's head, but the rest rolls up the windshield and comes like a waterfall over the windshield rail into one's lap...) I've just been lazy- I've done this on a 69 Camaro and I don't remember it being tough. I was 18 yo though.

So today was as good as any. Seats out, and I see the hydraulic lines are not so easy to replace. I debated leaving the old ones in, but I've already bought new ones so "why not". I was glad I had new ones, since when I took off the driver's side rear panel, I found the lines sticky with dirt and fluid, and a gunky residue on the panel below. I will say I am concerned about another member's experience with the hydraulic lines being too short. I don't want issues, since I don't have the time or patience to do this repeatedly.

No big deal- except the access to the top hose fittings looks near impossible. I started to take off some of the bracing over it, until I realized the bracing was also riveted to the floorpan.