General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

351c help

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2006, 12:54 AM
Panteraguy

Default 351c help

Hello all. I'm a newbie to this forum but thought this might be the best place to get some answers.
I just had my Pantera dynoed for the first time and being rather dissapointed by the results was hoping that some of the "gurus" here could lend some advice.
The engine is a 351c with 2v heads, TRW forged pistons creating 10.5 to 1 compression ratio. Heads are stock with porting to match the intake and exhaust. Bowls have been "cleaned up". Stainless valves w/5angle valve job and new valve inserts. Roller rocker conversion. Crane cam with .528 lift. MSD supplies the spark through a Blaster 2 coil and a MSD distributer, well, distributes the spark.
The dyno results show only about 270hp to the rear wheels. Does that seem low? I realize that I'm losing anywhere from 23% to 33% through the ZF transaxle but I was under the impression that this setup should produce over 400hp.
Any Ideas?

Thanks!
Old 04-17-2006, 01:52 AM
waxyourboard
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: 351c help

I'd say with your mods, those numbers look fairly accurate. The Cleveland 2v heads don't quite flow well enough to get the numbers you're looking for... at .400 inches of lift, they flow a healthy 200 cfm on the intake. From there on up, it levels out or even goes down.

For a comparison, the ever-popular GT-40 heads flow about 203 cfm at .400 inches of lift on the intake, and up to 216 at .500 inches of lift.

http://www.mustangandfords.com/techa...288/index.html

If you want to make more power, you're probably going to either need the heads professionally ported, or get some new heads. The Cleveland 4v heads flow very decent out of the box, and with your pistons you would probably be able to run 89 octane or so with the american version.