General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

Cheap tweaks

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2004, 12:47 AM
dubie76

Default Cheap tweaks

I just got a 2004 Mustang GT. I am new to the Mustang world and would like to know if there are any cheap upgrades out there to add horsepower. I do not race, and I do not want to spend $3000 on a supercharger, but would love to have a little more. Let me know any of your suggestions.
Old 05-07-2004, 01:27 AM
RollinThunder
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Cheap tweaks

modding cars is not a cheap hobby believe me..I cant belive how much I've spent already cuz its just not the parts that u buy its also the labor that u have to pay to get them installed unless u kno how to do that by urself...

but I some little things that u could do 2 ur car r bigger MAF differant air filter, exhaust (if u wanna do that cheap just get a catback) those r some things that dont cost that much but like I said its still not cheap
Old 05-07-2004, 01:28 AM
RollinThunder
3rd Gear Member

Old 05-07-2004, 02:24 AM
VertStangGT86
4th Gear Member

Exhuast is a good first step, and remember, it's mustang forums, not mustang world
Old 05-07-2004, 05:55 PM
roundman
5th Gear Member

putting in some lower rear gears will not add any power but it will make the power you have much more fun to use, 3.73 gears will really wake up an automatic and 3.55 gears work good in a 5 speed. gears installed may run you $500-600 depending on where you get them installed.
Old 05-07-2004, 06:54 PM
SilverGTV8
4th Gear Member

Acutally roundman, on a 99+GT 4.10 are the gear to get the trannies are geared much taller than Fox bodies. most people go with 3.73 and some are disappointed. don't fear the gear 4.10s are nice!
Old 05-08-2004, 02:04 AM
callmecobra
5th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: roundmanracing

3.55 gears work good in a 5 speed
your kidding, right?
Old 05-08-2004, 05:16 AM
Marc_03GT
1st Gear Member