General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Question on intakes...

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2005, 07:34 AM
New2Ford
1st Gear Member

Default Question on intakes...

I was talking to this kid I met at a buddys speed shop,and we started talking about intakes.Well as some of you know I am new to this "new car" thing(never owned a car newer than 29 yrs. old) anyways we started talking about cold air intakes,which I thought to be any open element, high flow intake,that replaces the factory intake box. But he goes off on how that what I am describing is a "cool air" intake,and he tells me with confidance that a "cold air" intake is one that enlarges the factory air hole extends down and meets a pocket in the bumper(so to speak) .
Is it me or is kid stupid? I mean yes what he described is a cold air intake,but isnt what I am describing a cold air intake also? Or is it a cool air intake,and I need to pull my nose out of the carburators,and learn some **** about theese new cars? Sorry if I am rambling,but this has been on my mind since tuesday!
thanks for any clarification,
N2F
Old 02-19-2005, 01:52 PM
roundman
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Question on intakes...