High output motor in a V6 frame - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > General Tech
Reload this Page >

High output motor in a V6 frame

Notices
General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

High output motor in a V6 frame

Reply

 
 
 
Old 11-03-2007, 06:20 PM
  #1  
americanrebel88
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default High output motor in a V6 frame

Im pretty new to Mustangs so I joined here knowing yall could help me out. I found a few mustangs locally for cheap mostwere V6s and my plan is to put in a high powered motor. The one im looking at will be running more than 350hp to the wheels. Do yall think the V6 uni bodies can handle this much power? Should I just go ahead and spend the extra money and get a GT and then do the swap? I really would like a convertable but if i really need to get a hard top so I can better support the power than I can settle for that. What do yall think?

Thanks
americanrebel88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 08:03 PM
  #2  
MU71L4710N
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 3,189
Default RE: High output motor in a V6 frame

search button... this question is asked many times per week in the v6 section. this isnt everything your going to have to do but this is a few cuz i dont feel like typing all this out

new suspension for front end, new tranny, 8.8 rear end, bigger radiator, new clutch if its a 5sp, wiring harness and ecu obviously, new fuel pump, etc...
MU71L4710N is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 08:45 PM
  #3  
americanrebel88
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default RE: High output motor in a V6 frame

Well the motor im lookin at comes with everything like the tranny, driveshaft, ecu and all that stuff. I just dont know if it would be ok to put into a V6 mustang. My buddy said that the V6 might not be able to handle the power and that i might need to go with the GT cause it was built like the cobra so it was gonna be stronger. He told me to get on here and ask yall. Thanks ill search it.
americanrebel88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 09:29 PM
  #4  
ESG-642T
Buyer Beware
 
ESG-642T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,586
Default RE: High output motor in a V6 frame

What motor are you trying to put in?
ESG-642T is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 03:42 AM
  #5  
MU71L4710N
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 3,189
Default RE: High output motor in a V6 frame

ORIGINAL: americanrebel88

Well the motor im lookin at comes with everything like the tranny, driveshaft, ecu and all that stuff. I just dont know if it would be ok to put into a V6 mustang. My buddy said that the V6 might not be able to handle the power and that i might need to go with the GT cause it was built like the cobra so it was gonna be stronger. He told me to get on here and ask yall. Thanks ill search it.
as i stated erlieryour friendis right. there is nothing different about the frame of a v6 to a GT. the suspension has to be upgraded because it was built for a lighter motor, a heavier motor will make the car sit and handle bad. does your motor come with a rear end? if not youll need to upgrade to that. the radiator in the v6 is not capable of cooling even a stock 4.6 2v gt motor.somethings gotta be doneabout exhaust cuz the v6 doesnt have cutouts (u can get the tips bent down to clear the bumper, get mac produmps, etc...), your gonna have to get some rims of some sort cuz the v6 is gonna be sitting on some like 5 inch wide tires.

and theres probably more im forgetting but thats still what your going to be looking at. a very high mileage GT will not cost you much more than a V6. insurance difference is negligable. save the headache and use a GT unless your good with a wrench and you want to do the extra work. and with 350hp it wouldnt hurt to get some subframe connectors and stuff thrown in to help stiffen things up
MU71L4710N is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 10:49 AM
  #6  
Dave5point0
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ft. Lauderdale FL
Posts: 337
Default RE: High output motor in a V6 frame

The "frame" is the same in both cars, but like stated above ^ you gotta change EVERYTHING else, save yourself alot of time and some $ in the long run with just starting with a GT that has the right suspension, brakes, radiator, rearend, harness, etc. Just my 2cents.
Dave5point0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:45 AM
  #7  
USMC1775
4th Gear Member
 
USMC1775's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The P.R.K.
Posts: 1,975
Default RE: High output motor in a V6 frame

To answer your question simply, yes. But like everyone else said, its a lot of work other than the engine itself. I happen to know a guy that swapped his totaled Cobra parts into a V6 car, and its now putting 406 to the wheels. We call it a GTS because it has no fogs, spoiler, pw, pdl, etc.
USMC1775 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 09:24 AM
  #8  
Fobra
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 4,064
Default RE: High output motor in a V6 frame

well not really - he can buy a decent bodied v-6 for like 1500-2500, with a crap motor, and who cares.... buy the GT wont save him anything - it all has to be replaced anyway... go with a donor v6, thats what i am doing
Fobra is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mrappe
V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs
0
09-26-2015 11:16 AM
classic69FB
Motor Swap Section
1
08-13-2015 12:58 AM
88Interceptor
New Member Area
13
05-22-2005 05:07 AM
88Interceptor
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang
11
05-17-2005 05:35 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: High output motor in a V6 frame


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.