General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Super Charger or Turbo, What are the Benefits?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2008, 12:43 AM
I_2Fast4You_I

Default Super Charger or Turbo, What are the Benefits?

Hi, I am new to the Mustang Forums, Ive read some of the other "supercharger or Turbo?" posts and I found them to be no help, Also I am sorry if I posted this in the Wrong spot.[/align][/align]I am 18 and am driving a 2006 Mustang GT Auto, [/align][/align]Ive been thinking about adding a Super Charger or a Turbo to my GT but I am not really sure of the benefits of a turbo or the differencebetween Turboand Twin Turbo. I'm looking to add moreHP and speed. I have done my research on Super Chargers but I seem to always come up empty handed when looking for Turbos, Seems most people use Turbo in there V6.[/align][/align]If anyone knows of any good learning, or just good sites please post there URL.[/align][/align]The brands I have been mostly looking at in order are:[/align][/align]Super Chargers:[/align]Kenne Bell 2.6L Big Bore[/align]Saleen Twin Screw[/align]Roush Supercharger.[/align][/align]Turbo:[/align]Hellion Turbo[/align]
Old 02-07-2008, 01:17 AM
67mustang302
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Super Charger or Turbo, What are the Benefits?

Positive discplacement superchargers are 2 basic flavors, roots and twin screw. Both provide full boost pressure at low rpm, and make very brad torque, and good top end power. Roots are old designs though, and the least efficient of all the blowers, but they're also the cheapest. TS's are more sophisticated, they're actually a compressor, unlike a Roots, they function the same only they're more efficient at it, so they'll make better power than the Roots will. Both provide power from basically almost right off idle.