General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Supercharger installed Now overheating

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2008, 07:52 PM
guch1971

Default Supercharger installed Now overheating

Hello,
I am new to the Mustang Forus, and have seen some pretty knowledgable posts and responses so I figured I would look for some help. I have just installed a vortech V2 SQ on my 1991 Mustang GT. and since the install I have been overheating. I cannot tell how hot it is actually at, either the sensor or gauge has just stopped working. But after a ride around my town testing.. I noticed the car running poorly. I went home and saw that the overflow was boiling over.. ( not good ). Changed the fluids again. 50 mix, some Redline water wetter... and made sure that I was topped off.. tested again.. got pretty hot again.. I checked to see if the thermostat was opening up and it was. Does anyone have any ideas why it would now start to overheat after the supercharger was installed? I am at a loss.

thank you in advance for any help.

Old 04-12-2008, 09:09 PM
PJC Racing
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Supercharger installed Now overheating

Psi output? Did you upgrade the fuel system (lean)? Do you have a boost retarder (detonation)? What plugs are you using(detonation), you should have gone 1-2 steps colder than stock. And the radiator should have been upgraded with a S.C. install (cooling capacity).
Old 04-12-2008, 09:11 PM
PJC Racing
3rd Gear Member

Ohhh, and get a good aftermarket gauge so you can tell what the temp is.
Old 04-12-2008, 09:53 PM
guch1971