General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Increasing MPG and HP

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2008, 11:27 PM
boxerz
1st Gear Member

Default Increasing MPG and HP

Hi, I'm a newbie to most car stuff and I was wondering what I could do to increase my MPG and HP on my mustang. Right now it's a 2001 v6 but I'm thinking of eventually getting a 99-04 GT and trying to learn a bit more about cars before hooking it up.

I hear cold air intake is one of the cheapest and easiest ways to increase HP/MPG. What about ram air intake? Which one is better? I hear turbocharging helps for HP and MPG a lot but that's a lot of $$$ and I don't see many mustang owners with turbochargers, why is that? I'm guessing exhaust will help with HP?
Old 04-13-2008, 11:41 PM
m260gt
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Increasing MPG and HP

exhaust and intake is minimal gains of hp...i got around 4hp when i added my cold air and flowmasters. as for fuel economy...neither helped me. lol. if anything..they hurt me.
Old 04-13-2008, 11:51 PM
boxerz
1st Gear Member

damn, what would help MPG with a boost of HP?
Old 04-14-2008, 12:02 AM
m260gt
2nd Gear Member

maybe a proffesional tune. a cold air may help you...but its hot here in FL so it didnt do much. and maybe full exhaust..i just welded in the mufflers.just get the whole 2.5" system.
Old 04-14-2008, 06:47 AM
GreyStang
5th Gear Member

If there were things you could do to your car to increase both power and fuel economy,, wouldn't you think Ford would have already done it for you? lol

Some thinks do work a little bit, like a CAI. Even the factory air intake can be improved by removing the air silencer on most model Stangs. In cases like that Ford opted to quiet thecars intake noises at the cost of maybe 1 or 2 hp.. in their eyes it was worth it but to a car nut it makes no sense lol
Old 04-14-2008, 07:13 AM
boxerz
1st Gear Member