Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Automatic in neutral at stops?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2006, 12:07 AM
sicko6
1st Gear Member

Default Automatic in neutral at stops?

Somebody once told me that it's a good idea to put an automatic transmission in neutral at long stop lights..........supposedly gives longer life to transmission? Can anybody who knows how an automatic tranny functions corroborate this?

Old 04-10-2006, 12:59 AM
dkano
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Automatic in neutral at stops?

Unless you're going to be stopped for more than 10 minutes somewhere I wouldn't start putting the car in neutral, then back to drive. If you're going to be stopped for that long you might as well turn the car off. I'm not an expert here but I would think transmissions were built to handle being in drive when you're stopped, the RPMs are not high enough to cause any long term damage anyways. If you really think about it you might have more of chance of cause damage in the long term by switching from drive to neutral, then back to drive, try it when you're a light next time, go into neutral, then back to drive, see how the car wants to pull forward a bit when you go into drive. Will all that switching you'll have more a of chance of causing damage, and got forbid you rev the engine when the car is in neutral, THEN go into drive!!! (again, not an expert, just my opinion)
Old 04-10-2006, 01:01 AM
06stangGT
4th Gear Member

i actually put my grand am in neutral at longer lights
Old 04-10-2006, 01:04 AM
mvm549
2nd Gear Member

ya that doesnt really sound like its a good idea
Old 04-10-2006, 01:38 AM
ford4v429
3rd Gear Member

I agree with dkano-