Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

CAI question.

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2006, 11:40 PM
Blacksmoke
The Paranoid One

Default CAI question.

Do you need a tune when you get a CAI?
IF so then what the hell do you do when you want to take ur car in and not void the warranty and want to put the stock back on?

Im new at this but someone told me its easy to put the stock one back on.. but if you need a tuner for say......a K&N air intake kit.. wont you need it tuned again when you put the stock back on..?
And wont this trigger a flag when the dealer takes a look at it?
Old 05-09-2006, 11:49 PM
JPS51830

Default RE: CAI question.

Depends on the CAI model. A lot of them need a tune, some don't. I had an aFe Stage II and it did not need a tune. When you by a hand held tuner, SCT Xcal or Diablo, they store your original program in them. If you feel the need to take it in and have work done, if you take off the CAI you just put your original back in. It's actually quite simple. As for installing the CAI, with little mechanical ability you can do it in less than an hour.

Not to confuse you anymore, but you really should have the car dyno tuned after you add any performance mod to get the max out of it and make sure your A/F ratios are correct as well a few other things they can look at. Again, with the SCT or Diablo, the tuner will still have you original program and they can store the dyno tuned program into the hand held so you can switch back and forth as needed, or even make some adjustments yourself. Best advice I can give is to find a reputable speed shop near where you live, find out what they use when they tune the car and go with the equipment they use. Most of it costs right around the same price. This way if you do have a problem, they can also check the car, they are usually much more reliable than the dealer.
Old 05-09-2006, 11:50 PM