Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

I've got 3K set aside for my car...

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2006, 05:25 PM
blue06roush

Default I've got 3K set aside for my car...

I've done a lot of research on performance parts for these 3V's and theres so many parts i'm wondering what I should do with the money I have set aside for the car. I already have a Diablo tuner and a WMS intake, with axleback Flowmasters. I really want to skip the whole underdrive pulley thing and go straight to head work and new mild cams. Does anyone have any experience with the work livernois does? I really am interested in sending mine in or buying a new pair outright. The same goes for the cams that i've seen in blow by racing - I have no experience with any of these as it wil be the first car i've ever replaced cams on.

Besides heads and cams, would there be any advantage to buying a full header back exhaust system? I've seen some people "claim" they can make 20 - 30 HP but it doesnt really seem to be true to me. I guess i'm asking should I go with the engine internals and skip the bolt ons or go with all bolt ons like UDP, exhaust, intake and such?

Also what would be the relative power gains from doing each of these? Would I make mor epower with heads and cams or bolt ons?
Old 05-25-2006, 06:50 PM
Rkbarnes82
1st Gear Member

Default RE: I've got 3K set aside for my car...

youd make good gains from a CAI and good tune. this would be far less than 3k. As far as head and cam work goes im not too sure but im sure you would see far more gains than any exhaust product.
Old 05-25-2006, 06:54 PM
CrazyAl
5th Gear Member

The Livernois head work was documented in a recent 5.0 Mustangs & Super Fords Magazine. I belive they were getting +30 HP from the porting.