Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Straight Thru vs X or H???

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2006, 01:58 PM
doctorj77
2nd Gear Member

Default Straight Thru vs X or H???

Hey everyone, I'm a newb here and wanted opinions on a exhaust setup. I have a 06 GT and just bought a Pypes axleback from Americanmuscle. $210 shipped and I love the sound. But like all other stangers I still want more. Now I've read the debates about H vs X pipes. I like both but cannot affort the catted H. I say catted because I don't want to fiddle with emissions testing at any point. So I've heard the catted X pipes too, like it for the price but a little too loud. So here is my question....

Has anyone removed their H section on the stock midpipe and replaced it with a straight thru pipe, retaining 2/3 of the stock pipe and factory cats? If so what difference is there in sound, in any? Another question, has anyone installed the X pipe kit from FordRacing, the one that just replaces the H section of the stock mid pipe? My imagination says it would change the exhaust note, obvisouly, but wouldn't be as loud or raspy as a high flow X or OR X.

Thanks in advance
Old 12-31-2006, 02:23 PM
Menace
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Straight Thru vs X or H???

Going straight pipe would decrease your power. The sound would be ... different. Not sure if that means bad or good. The connection between pipes, whether X or H is to merge the tones coming from each side of the engine. I'm no expert, but I imagine it has something to do with the flow as well. Improves flow by preventing back pressure to return, or maybe it gives the engine a little back pressure because it needs a little resistance to help push it out stronger.
Old 12-31-2006, 02:27 PM
doctorj77
2nd Gear Member