Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Automatic tranny's longevity/reliability with BOOST

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2007, 07:56 PM
ChiDiddy
4th Gear Member

Default Automatic tranny's longevity/reliability with BOOST

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the mustang/domestic community. I'm planning to get an auto, but i also plan to boost it. Now i see a couple of ppl have broken trannies from boost.

But from my current boosted autos, i run:
-Fully built auto race tranny+high stall on the RSX
-ATF cooler
-Amsoil synthetic ATF

The cooler and Amsoil will go LONG ways in improving tranny life and heat control.

Also, are you guys running the Brenspeed Deep tranny pan? More ATF=cooler=longer life. Heat is the trannies worst enemy, and the only thing i can think of u guys who are breaking them are overheating the tranny in some way.

Can you guys share experiences in your boosted automatic? ie. shift quality in daily driving, WOT, etc. And also, list symptoms of "broken" trans.

BTW this is my plan if getting a Saleen is not possible
Old 07-16-2007, 11:29 PM
pinoy
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Automatic tranny's longevity/reliability with BOOST

Well supposedly the transmission can take up to 430hp. But i only have 300RWHP and my transmission blew up. Im pretty sure if you get the kit from brenspeed it would help out the transmission plus you can do you own transmission fluid flush. (The new stangs dont have a dipstick!) I have the tune from brenspeed and it really awakens the beast under that hood. Good thing the transmission took the beating till 48k miles. And thats really beating it up. Taking it to the track every week and gunning it at almost every stoplight. I read in Modified Mustangs today that there is a right up on how to change our 5R55S transmission to a 4R70W transmission. Supposedly that new transmission can take up to 1800HP.