Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2008, 02:58 PM
Hoss

Default Advice

I am new to the mod game. I have an 06 GT with these mods:
Magnaflow Muffler
Pypes O/R X-Pipe
BBK CAI

Here is the question. Since installing all of these mods my car almost feels a little more sluggish. It kind of feels like its choking if thats a good description. After installing the CAI and reseting the computer it feels better but still feels unsmooth. The sound is also not what I thought it would be, I was hoping for a low pitched growl and instead my car sounds like a classic mustang with no exhaust on it at all...lol. Any advice from you guys would be great. Thanks for the help.
Old 06-25-2008, 03:05 PM
blackS197
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Advice

is your car tuned for the OR X? Yea magnaflows are pretty silent. Get rid of those and get something else. Get a straight through design like magnapaks, slps etc.
Old 06-25-2008, 03:13 PM
Hoss

I think you misunderstood. My exhaust is loud as hell but not the kind of loud I was expecting. It sounds more like something is wrong with the car instead of being low pitched and mean sounding.
I have not had the car tuned, m mechanic told me I wouldn't need to tune it. He said that if we reset the computer in the car it would tune itself? Is this true or do I need to by a tuner? I got a price on a hypertech tuner, if I need it to make the car run smooth and strong again I will get it but if not I would rather wait.
Thanks for the response.
Old 06-25-2008, 03:33 PM
acascianelli
5th Gear Member

Get a tune. Althought BBK says you can run their intake without a tune, you really should get a tune.
Old 06-25-2008, 04:00 PM
ptkthekid
3rd Gear Member

Yeah, get a tune. I'm suprised you don't have some kind of idiot light coming on with that CAI.
Old 06-25-2008, 04:09 PM
Hoss