Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Exhaust ? (not about best/what to buy.)

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2008, 11:40 AM
WhichOnesTheGas

Default Exhaust ? (not about best/what to buy.)

I was curious. i am new to exhaust modifications and am looking for guidance. i wanted to place a super 44 flowmaster muffler onto (insert midpipe type, looking at magnaflow Tru-X offroad). However it does not show up in the list of items when i type in 2005 mustang gt into the flowmaster search bar. to put it simply, will the super 44 fit onto a 2005 mustang gt? does the type and size of midpipe matter? what size muffler should i be looking at so i can get an accurate guess of price?

also...which is the best exhaust brand...just kidding.

Thanks!
Old 07-07-2008, 12:39 PM
ffk_pennywise
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Exhaust ? (not about best/what to buy.)

Well I cant help you on a part number but I can tell you that Yes its doable. Several people on here have 44 series mufflers on their GT's. It probably doesnt show up in the search because Flowmaster makes a special muffler setup just for our cars. Its the American Thunder series for 05+ model years. Sorry I cant give you more specifics. Oh, and its kind of a known fact around here that Flowmasters and X-pipes sound like hammered dooky. Flowmasters need an H-pipe or they sound like crap. Good luck!
Old 07-09-2008, 03:09 PM
WhichOnesTheGas

Hey thanks FFK,