Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Redline

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2005, 09:25 AM
SpazHairlip
I ♥ Acer

Default Redline

Ok, I’ve been driving he new GT all weekend to try and get used to her. I love the exhaust rumble and the tones from slow speed 1st to 2nd shifting. But I have a question about the 6k redline and bogging down. I got on the highway once yesterday and decided to get on her a bit. I was in 1st and gave her the gas, and then I was kind of sloppy going to 2nd. I noticed that just as she hit near 6k on the tach, the engine went into super bog mode. I tried it again, but this time with the TSC off and the same thing happened.

Is there some kind of governor or limiter to protect the engine from being blown up on her? If there is that’s cool, I’m still learning to driver her right. I just didn’t expect the sudden bog down like that.
Old 06-20-2005, 09:52 AM
Robs05gtvert
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Redline

there is a rev limiter...can you load a tune to push it up if you wanted to
Old 06-20-2005, 10:50 AM
Daniel60
5th Gear Member

With the predator? Anyway would it actually harm the engine if taken off? Do you actually get a little bit more gutso?
Old 06-20-2005, 11:01 AM
Robs05gtvert
2nd Gear Member

either the predator or xcal can do it. As I understand it, there is a little room to bump it up and still be in the safe zone...I for one am not interested pushing the envelope. I'd rather be safe than sorry.
Old 06-20-2005, 12:15 PM
SpazHairlip
I ♥ Acer

Robs05gtvert,

How easy was you C&L install and pred tune? Did it take long? Did you notice a difference afterwards?
Old 06-20-2005, 12:32 PM
hawgman
I ♥ Acer