Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

2011 Mustang Advice wanted!

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2010, 06:25 PM
pdonket
4th Gear Member

Default 2011 Mustang Advice wanted!

Hey everybody! It's definite that I'll be purchasing new baby in the next week or so, with it coming in around 6 weeks (have to custom order it).

So before I go in to do final negotiations on a price, I wanted to know if I could get some advice from you guys. I'm very new to the whole haggling the price down system and so I don't want to get completely overcharged.

I priced everything out on Edmunds to get a feel for MSRP vs. Invoice and it boils down to this.

The MSRP of the configuration I'll be purchasing comes out to Just around $35,050. (This is a mustang GT premium.) The invoice of the vehicle is $31,981.

Where do you guys think I should be aiming to argue the price down to? All advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 06-16-2010, 06:51 PM
mustanglover37
1st Gear Member

I don't know how much you can haggle but if you have a good amount of ford dealers near you your going to want to go to each one and tell them to do better on the price that the previous one gave you (This works the best when you have trade in). If you have a particular dealer you are going to want it from go back to them after you get all the offers and they will ussally beat your preivious quote by a BS amount of $40 or so.
Old 06-16-2010, 07:17 PM
Timspony
SVT Section Moderator

Welcome to MF! ...GL!!
Old 06-16-2010, 07:21 PM
maniacmikey
2nd Gear Member

You may have the same problem that the guys buying the 2005 models had in that the dealers will refuse to deal on the cars because so many many people want them.
Old 06-16-2010, 10:15 PM
dkontner