Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

ATTN: Auto tranny owners

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2005, 05:31 PM
The Ghost
3rd Gear Member

Default ATTN: Auto tranny owners

Hey guys, can see from my sig. what I'm running. Been playing with tuning the tranny with the Xcal. Made many, many passes and a few dyno runs with a notebook in hand logging down speed/ RPM/shift firmness...blah, blah, blah. I've got this thing down to what is a nearly perfect set-up IMOP. My only Q at this point is "What is the max full throttle RPM you guys are willing to shift at ?" I tuned this thing to work on street tires and currently have the 1-2 at around 6400RPM but dropped the line presure to keep the tires stuck to the ground (dropped 60 ft times to 1.97, that is right at .10 better than before I started playing with it). BUT... I am kicking 2-3 and 3-4 at around 6700RPM, trying to get the most out of the car from here on to drop the 330ft and 1/8th times. 6700 seems to produce the best results, but I am a little concerned about what a stock motor can turn. Anyone got tech specs to share to convince me I'm OK? This motor is still pulling very nicely at 6700RPM but can the rods and bearings handle it?
Old 08-29-2005, 05:49 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

Default RE: ATTN: Auto tranny owners

You've got that (6700 RPM) as the shift point for WOT or no matter where the foot is on the throttle? If it's just for WOT I wouldn't see this being too bad as long as you don't drive it like you stole it all day long every day. Then again, redline tends to be maximum conservative RPM for daily drivers. Unless you plan on doing some internal mods to the engine I might suggest dropping it back a few hundred RPM (right to redline) You may give up .10 on 60ft but your car would last longer.

I don't have specs on hand to 'convince' you but that's just my observation.