Mach 1 Section This section is for discussions relating to the reincarnation of the Mach 1 trimline.

Possible new '03 owner!

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2010, 07:17 PM
smitty2919
5th Gear Member

Default Possible new '03 owner!

Long story shot...a lot has happened today and if all goes well I may be getting into a AB 03 Mach 1 with 71K mi. I'm gonna go look at it this weekend prob.

I'm not new to the 4v motor as I had a 95 Mark8, but I am somewhat new to the known/unknown problems or things to look for in these cars.

I have heard of the "head tick" and accompanying "head cooling mod". I clearly don't want to buy the car with the tick and if it doesn't have it, this will be the first mod done for preventative maintenance.

From what I have gathered it's completely stock with a rebuilt tranny by the dealer due to "crunchy gears" and rebuilt tranny due to clutch dicks grinding.

What else is something to pay attention to? I'm going to continue to research but I would love to get input from you guys since I will linger here a lot, I do already but for having an 04 GT.

Payments/insurance seem to be working out...I have money lined up...it's on to looking at it and a test drive...needless to say I'm getting excited LOL

Thanks!
Dean
Old 12-07-2010, 08:02 PM
rygi23
4th Gear Member

hello Dean and welcome to our lil Mach section. You covered the only two issues that one could say need addressed. The head tick is extremly rare with Machs but has happened so the cooling mod is a welcome if it's in the budget I guess. The tranny...well the syncronizers usually are fine unless powershifting has happened, mine included (3rd and 4th went, lol). Every car has it's querks you know, but the Machs are truly awesome cars. The bang for the buck in performance can't be beat. If the car's up to your standards, the price is right, and it wows you after a test drive then go for it. If you do, we're here if you have any questions.
Old 12-07-2010, 08:24 PM
smitty2919
5th Gear Member