Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

stupid questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2009, 07:24 PM
1966stang
1st Gear Member

Default stupid questions

im very new to the supercharger/ turbo/ blower scene so i did some research but have some easy questions: is a super charger the same as a blower? can it make my 289ci 200hp engine run 400hp? what would be a good brand supercharger and/or blower for a classic mustang? what is the rough cost for one? intercooled? ive ruled out turbo cause id need 2 for my V8 engine so looking at super/ blowers. ive looked around and paxton makes a supercharger for my year mustang but from what ive read a intercooled charger will give me more hp gain. ive looked at procharger and vortech but i cant find prices and as far a blowers ive found only one place call hampton blowers- this is whats led to the supercharger = blower question. thanks for any answers/ advice.

mark
Old 07-27-2009, 08:34 PM
luckythirteen13
6th Gear Member

blower and sc are the same thing. the terms are used interchangably.
as far as running a turbo setup, you do not need 2 because its a v8. you can run 2 small ones like i do, or you can run one. a single 62mm or 67mm would get you to your goal of 400hp. cost varies from manufacturer, vortech will probably be the best bang for the buck. great quality at a fair price starting around $3000 and then it goes up from there. paxton, vortech and procharger are all great companies so which ever you can get the best deal on, go for it. not sure if these companies have carb setups but its easyto just get a carb hat. same thing with the turbo if you go that route. take a look at b&g turbo. they make a 5.0 kit for about $3000 and all youd need is a blow through carb and a carb hat....youd need the blow through carb and hat no matter what setup you go with tho.
Old 07-27-2009, 08:43 PM
1966stang
1st Gear Member