Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

Streetable superchargers

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2011, 12:15 PM
twitchster

Default Streetable superchargers

I'm new to these forums but have been a long time Mustang enthusiast. Well, I can't say I like all of them but I do like most. I had a '65 Mustang that I built the engine and had to sell the car shortly after the engine was put in. Just a brief history about me for you.

Now on to my question. I am looking into getting a 2007 or 2008 GT and was wanting to put a supercharger on it. Now, every engine I have built in the past has been naturally aspirated therefore I have little to no knowledge of what I need to be looking for in a supercharger. Here are the things I'm wanting to be able to get out of a supercharger setup.

1. Very good street driveability (mainly weekend cruising)
2. No modifications to the inernals of the engine (i.e. nothing forged, etc.)
3. Run low to mid 11's in the quarter or faster if possible
4. Something that will not put an excessive amount of strain on the engine,
tranny, or rear end.
5. Something that will last for a pretty good while.

Now the two superchargers I was really looking hard at were the Edelbrock E-Force and the Roush M90, both of which only use 5psi of boost. Any opinions on which would be better suited for my needs is greatly appreciated.

Here is a list of other mods I plan on doing to the car in addition to the supercharger.

1. Pypes violators axleback exhaust
2. SLP Longtube headers with SLP shorty catted x-pipes
3. either a 3.73 or 4.10 gear in the rear end
4. Line lock
5. New cams, either FRPP Hot Rod or Comp Cams Thumpr
6. Eibach Pro-Kit Lowering Springs