Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Help With Heel-Toe Downshift

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2007, 02:16 PM
Argonaut
4th Gear Member

Default Help With Heel-Toe Downshift

If there are any road racers out there who are expert in the Heel-Toe downshift, I'm wondering if you could answer a few questions. I'm new to this, first high-performance car I've owned. I've always been able to do a nice little throttle blip to match the engine revs to the road speed when downshifting but I've never tried to add braking into the process. So I've been giving it a go. Pretty hard, I can see it takes a lot of practice. A few questions:
[ul][*]In general are the stock pedals and their placement in a S197 good or bad for doing a Heel-Toe? Compared to other sports cars?[*]If the placement of the pedals is not ideal, is there anything that can be done to improve it?[*]How to place my right foot: I'm putting the heel of my foot on the floor board and then placing the left half of the ball of my foot on the brake and blipping the throttle with the right half (not to successfully yet). Is this correct or should my heel be off the floor board?[*]I don't have driving shoes so what would be the best type of shoe to wear that I do have - running shoe, court shoe, loafer, etc?[/ul]
I'm going to plan on enrolling in a drivers course or two in the spring but for right now I'm on my own, any help or pointers you can give will be much appreciated.
Thanks.
Old 11-10-2007, 02:22 PM
Yonco
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Help With Heel-Toe Downshift