Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Driving in the rain

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2008, 11:22 PM
IronHorse330

Thumbs up Driving in the rain

So ok everyone, I just got my first Mustang and I am very new to all of this forum stuff but I do have a question that I need help with. I have an 05 4.0L manual. Now things were going well for me while driving until I hit rain and the second I hit it I went sideways in the middle of the highway and thank god no one was around me even though I did recover from it. Close one at that, like to scared the heck out of me. I literaly had to slow down to like 45 mph just to be able to handle driving in the rain and I can drive pretty good. What I would like to know is what brand of tires would be a better fit to handle the wet roads. I have BF Goodwrench tires, but I am also wondering if is just me going to a rear wheel drive from a front wheel drive. Does the mustang just not have very good handling in the rain or do they have great handling with the right equipment. Please let me know because my impression isn't the best on my car right now and hopefully its something I can correct. Thanks: Troy
Old 09-03-2008, 04:49 AM
Ato
4th Gear Member

Rear wheel drive handles just fine in the rain, I think it's just your lack of experience w/ it b/c you were used to how a fwd reacted in the rain. You don't need new tires, just take it a little slower until you get the feel for it and always be a gear higher then you think you should be in. This way when you give it a little gas it will have that bogged down fee so you should be much less likely to kick the rear out.
Old 09-03-2008, 07:43 AM
IronHorse330